Warthogs belong to the pig family, Suidae. They mostly occupy the grasslands, woodlands and savannas in the sub- Saharan Africa. We have four sub species including Nolan Warthog, Southern Warthog, Central African Warthog and the Eritrean warthog. They are not usually territorial. Instead, they occupy a home area. They are social animals that live in groups referred to as sounders.

Key Facts

  • Related to the pigs, hogs and boars.
  • They are hooved animals and have large nostrils the very end of their snouts.
  • They commonly occupy the savanna woodlands and grasslands of Africa.
  • They live in groups called sounders.
  • They are herbivores.

More Photos